Thursday, 17 December 2020

After Words

After Words were a four-piece punk/melodic hardcore band from Atlanta, Georgia that were around from 1987 to 1989. They clearly took a lot of influence from Dischord bands such as Rites Of Spring, Embrace, and Gray Matter. Just a few years prior to After Words, those band had begun hardcore's evolution in a new direction, with melodic instrumentation and melancholic vocals, all while maintaining a distinctly punk energy. For these reasons they are often regarded as one of the earliest "emocore" bands, though that's a semi-controversial term to use in regards to bands from this era. Regardless, After Words put out only one album in their time, which was more than enough to cement their legacy for years. Their 1989 self-titled release is nothing short of fantastic, with dynamic guitar parts, melodic bass lines, and some standout songwriting. Not to mention the production on this album is noticeably clean without being too polished, with the band's strong performances being captured in its clear perfection. Definitely recommended if you're a fan of the aforementioned DC bands. Enjoy.

1. Live At WREK Intro
2. Looking Back
3. Break 1
4. Welcome Again
5. Break 2
6. Third Party
7. Break 3
8. Instrumental
9. Break 4
10. Helpless
11. Break 5
12. No Matter What You've Done
13. Break 6
14. As I See It
15. Break 7
16. Things They Never Taught You
17. Break 8
18. Tell Me
19. Break 9
20. Blame
21. Outro

1. Looking Back
2. Helpless
3. Tell Me
4. Ghost Dance
5. Blame
6. As I See It
7. Welcome Again
8. Third Party

No comments:

Post a comment