Friday 8 October 2021

One Step Closer

One Step Closer are a five-piece hardcore band from Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania that began in 2016. In the short span of time they've been around this band has evolved quite a bit. Beginning with a fairly rough, straight-forward hardcore demo, they gradually embraced more melodic elements through a series of EP's, all the while still maintaing the passion and desperation of any good hardcore band. This culminated in the release of their debut full-length, This Place You Know. Released in September of this year, these 10 tracks are absolutely crushing. They're pulling sounds from bands like Bane, Verse, or Have Heart and playing them under the influence of Sunny Day Real Estate, with some latter-era Title Fight thrown into the mix. A good comparison would be to the classic Turning Point (a band OSC fittingly cover), who moved in a similar trajectory, from traditional hardcore origins to emo and alternative influence, broadening their sound with dynamics, melody, and a wider emotional palette. That's not to say One Step Closer is just a hodge podge (can't believe I used that word) of sounds already heard, but that they're a well-crafted, extremely tight-knit group that's studied a litany of influence and blended them into something truly unique and hard-hitting, with incredible instrumentals and relatable lyrics to boot. This Place You Know was released by Run For Cover Records, and a description that came to mind when trying to explain this album was Run For Cover-core. If you're at all familiar with the label, this will make perfect sense to you, and should be incentive enough to check this out if you haven't already. This is a fantastic record from one of the best up-and-coming bands, so please do enjoy.

1. Speak Out
2. True And Fake
3. My Choice
4. Broken Ties
5. O.S.C.

1. Sunset
2. Solitary
3. The Division
4. Introspect
5. Moving Forward
6. Blossom

1. Portrayal
2. Lifetime
3. Viewpoint

1. The Reach
2. Dusk
3. Day Dream
4. From Me To You
5. Portrayal
6. Imagination of Being

1. Lead To Gray
2. Broken (Turning Point cover)

1. I Feel So
2. Lead To Gray
3. Leave Me Behind
4. Home For The Night
5. Pringle Street
6. Hereafter
7. Time Spent, Too Long
8. Autumn
9. Chrysanthemum
10. As The City Sleeps

1. Dark Blue
2. Turn To Me
3. T.T.S.P.

Thursday 7 October 2021


Mallard were a six-piece emo band from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania that were around from 2010 to 2013. They were formed by members of Footnotes, Corcovado, and Broski. They were one of the finest, though often underrated bands of the early emo revival era, putting out a slew of melancholic yet energetic songs, with three guitarists bringing layers of mathy, noodly goodness, and vocals meant to be shouted along to in a crowded room. Fans of bands like Street Smart Cyclist, Coping and Boy Problems will undoubtedly love this . I created a single discography compilation if you just want to grab everything, or individual releases if you'd like below. Enjoy.

1. 1st Jawn Sesh (Jonnie's Tosh
2. Chug Your Knowledge
3. Megan's Milky
4. Quack Attack
5. Jonnie Shots
6. Lade In Malaysia
7. Blast Rag
8. Kelsey Q vs. The Holland Tunnel
9. Ollie Over Marley
10. Wing Job
11. Closer To Camden
12. Everybody Knows About Brazzers
13. She's Taller Than Me
14. Abby, Of My Infinite Betrayal
15. Black Duck

1. 1st Jawn Sesh (Jonnie's Tosh)

1. Chug Your Knowledge
2. Megan's Milky
3. Quack Attack
4. Jonnie Shots

1. Lade In Malaysia
2. Blast Rag
3. Kelsey Q vs. The Holland Tunnel

1. Ollie Over Marley
2. Wing Job
3. Closer To Camden

1. Everybody Knows About Brazzers
2. She's Taller Than Me
3. Abby, Of My Infinite Betrayal
4. Black Duck

Tawny Peaks

Tawny Peaks were a five-piece emo/indie band from Montclair, New Jersey that were around from 2011 to 2015. This is yet another band I thought I had done years before, but somehow slipped through the cracks until now. Tawny Peaks put out two incredible full-lengths of clean, jangly math-inspired emo, with distinct and often harmonized vocals. Fans of bands like Joie De Vivre, Brave Bird, Dowsing and You Blew It! will fall in love with this, if you're not already familiar with it. As a quick anecdote, guitarist/producer Sam Skinner is also a member of Pinegrove. There's not much else to say other than these two albums have been sorely lacking from this blog, so please do enjoy.

1. With Steps
2. Collect Calling
3. More Proof
4. March Sadness
5. The Tree Song
6. Molehill
7. Ambiguity
8. Bring Back The Mountain

1. Go Ask Arthur
2. Wasting Space
3. Righting The Writ
4. Bending Time
5. Caught Fingers Crossed
6. A Broken Spoke
7. In Silver River
8. Portrait Of Pushkin
9. Confessor's Kingdom