Thursday, 14 February 2019

The Khayembii Communiqué

"I don't remember anything without you". Ya knew it was coming, it's been 7 years in the making; it's another installment of Sophie's Sad Times at Kinsella High, our Valentine's Day tradition here. Have things gotten better since we started this little tradition? No. Will today be spent coping with the dismal, lonely emptiness inside each and every one of us? Yes. This year the pickings were tough, since I've already used up a lot of the most fitting bands for today, but figured this band fits the profile close enough, and have to be posted on here at some point. I'll link to each other post in the comments, if you want to dive further into despair.

The Khayembii Communiqué were a three-piece screamo band from Minneapolis, Minnesota that were around mainly from 1999 to 2000. They poured a lot of passion into their limited material, releasing only one 7" and one split (with The Vidablue, who later become Ten Grand). Sonically, they are somewhat comparable to bands like Portraits Of Past or I Hate Myself, with chaotic, throat-shredding screaming, often mixed in with unorthodox rhythms and dissonant chords. They balanced this out nicely with some quieter dynamic moments, and the inclusion of a second vocalist, who often sung clean and melodically. You can read a lot more about their history here, which was written by vocalist/guitarist Mark Shaw. Keep it sad and loud today, here's to another year gone by, and I'll check in with ya in another 365 days to see if there's been a sliver of improvement. Don't enjoy.

1. The Thirtieth
2. AM1200
3. A Year And An Ocean
4. How To Change Addictions

1. The Khayembii Communiqué - The Des Moines Tapes
2. The Khayembii Communiqué - Better Times Are Left Dead
3. The Khayembii Communiqué - Lacking
4. The Khayembii Communiqué - The Death Of An Aspiring Icon
5. The Vidablue - Engine Down
6. The Vidablue - Me And Spike Lee
7. The Vidablue - The Dukes Are Trying To Corner The Market
8. The Vidablue - I Survived The Chair

Tuesday, 12 February 2019

Slow Mass

Slow Mass are a five-piece post-hardcore/indie rock band from Chicago, Illinois that began in 2014. They contain members who were also a part of Into It. Over It. and Former Thieves. Thus far they've released one EP and one LP, both of which have received nothing but high praise. And rightfully so, since Slow Mass carve out a very unique corner of the indieverse in which they operate. They take the off-kilter rhythms, and tension-building, dynamic climaxes championed by post-hardcore greats such as Unwound and Fugazi, and mix in these more "indie" characteristics, including a lot of sweet, dual vocal harmonies. It's really hard to pinpoint exactly where their sound is derived from, because it truly is a unique mix. They'll be touring with La Dispute and Gouge Away this year, so be sure to check them out there, as I'm sure this is a band we'll be hearing a lot about for a (hopefully) long time. Enjoy.

1. Dark Dark Energy
2. Bruce Lee
3. Nice But Not Kind
4. Clint Eastwood
5. Portals To Hell
6. Treasure Pains

1. Dark Dark Energy
2. Suburban Yellow

1. On Watch I
2. Grey Havens
3. Blocks
4. Suburban Yellow
5. My Violent Years
6. Oldest Youngest
7. On Watch II
8. E.D.
9. The Author
10. Tunnel Vision Quest
11. Like Dead Skin
12. Schemes
13. G's End

1. Siren
2. Reservations (Wilco)

1. Mal
2. I'll Wait With You (Pygmy Lush)

Monday, 11 February 2019


Wristmeetrazor are a three-piece screamo/hardcore band that began in 2017. Initially beginning with a demo as a solo project, they soon expanded into a full-lineup to release the a double-EP in 2017, "I Talk To God... But The Sky Is Empty". You might remember this, since the first half of the EP was premiered here when it was first released. They made an immediate impact with their ferocious sound, blending aspects of classic screamo bands like Neil Perry and Combatwoundedveteran, with hints of metalcore influence from Converge and early Norma Jean. Fans of other modern bands like SeeYouSpaceCowboy and .gif from god will also dig this. They recently released their debut full-length album on Prosthetic Records, and its the exact sonic throwback gutpunch we were hoping for. Awesome album, awesome band, I cannot recommend enough. Enjoy.

1. I
2. II
3. III

1. 1716
2. Razorwire Bouquet
3. Nothing Gold Can Stay
4. This Summer's Sorrow

1. Bible Study With An Atheist
2. De Nadi...
3. ...Querido Amor
4. Anesthetic

1. Loathsome
2. In Line For Halos
3. Insecurity Checkpoint
4. Come On In, The Water's Pink
5. Goodbye Sweet Betty
6. XOXO (Love Letter From A Loaded Gun)
7. He Smiled From Ear To Ear
8. Expiry Date : 12 Hours
9. No More Blue Tomorrows

1. Our Distress Entwined
2. Last Tango in Paris
3. Sycophant
4. Nietzsche Is Dead
5. Love's Labor's Lost
6. Anemic (The Same Six Words)
7. Eyes of Sulfide
8. Dies Iræ
9. 99 & 44/100
10. A Fractured Dovetail Romance
11. This Summer's Sorrow Ⅱ: Growing Old in the Waiting Place
12. All the Way Alive