Wednesday 18 July 2018

Infant Island - Further TRACK PREMIERE

Today I've got another premiere for ya, this one courtesy of Infant Island, a four-piece band from Fredericksburg, Virginia. Coming off the heels of an incredible split with Small Hands put out last year, they are returning with a new self-titled album, which will be released August 2nd. I'm happy share the first taste of it, which comes in the form of the closing track on the album, "Further". Check it out below.

This track builds and winds, taking the listener on an emotional journey in its nearly 7-minute runtime. It opens with a gentle, reverb-coated fingerpicked guitar,  with a looming atmosphere that slowly builds as the full instrumentation enters, with some bass swells and washy cymbal work. It then throws its punches in the form of a pounding rhythm section, desperate screams, and some continued gorgeous post-rock leaning guitar work. This doesn't last long though, since it decays back into this rolling atmospheric bit, before kicking into a fret-frenzied bass line. They don't lose momentum for a second as the vocals shriek back in for a heaven-reaching crescendo. The track closes with some haunting piano clinks and white noise, an unexpected turn, but one that fits perfectly as a sendoff for both this song and this new album.

If this track is any indication of how incredible this new record is going to be, I highly suggest marking August 2nd down. It will be available in full on all digital platforms that day, as well as on cassette August 4th, and vinyl later in the month. All pre-order info can be found below, as well as the poster for their upcoming tour.


90 on White
10 on Gold

Available for pre-order from Zegema Beach Records


200 clear w/black haze
300 black

Available for pre-order from Middle Man Records and Conditions Records

Infant Island

1 comment:

  1. This RULES.

    btw can I suggest the band As It Is for a spot on here