Sunday, 22 May 2016

Aaron West And The Roaring Twenties

Aaron West And The Roaring Twenties is the solo project of The Wonder Years' frontman Dan "Soupy" Campbell, which began in 2014. As opposed to the loud, upbeat pop punk of his main band, this project finds Soupy exploring acoustic elements and folk-influenced music. The focus here is on the lyrics, which detail a narrative on his debut album, We Don't Have Each Other. It's no secret that Soupy can pen a good song, and this project is a perfect example of that. His voice fits the instrumentals perfectly, which really convey the character Aaron West that he's created for himself. The project's second release, an EP titled Bittersweet, was just released, so I had to cover this band as soon as possible. Enjoy.

1. Our Apartment
2. Grapefruit
3. St. Joe Keeps Us Safe
4. Runnin' Scared
5. Divorce And The American South
6. The Thunderbird Inn
7. Get Me Out Of Here Alive
8. You Ain't No Saint
9. Carolina Coast
10. Going To Georgia (the Mountain Goats cover) (Bonus Track)

1. '67, Cherry Red
2. Goodbye, Carolina Blues
3. Green Like The G Train, Green Like Sea Foam


  1. As a singer and lyricist, Soupy is incredible. I can't get into this though, as a guitarist he just isn't captivating. If he had Casey playing the songs would be amazing, like all wonder years acoustic songs

  2. Ace Enders plays a pretty big part in AAron west as well

  3. Our Apartment kicks my feelings in the dick.