Saturday, 10 December 2016

Suffocate For Fuck Sake

Suffocate For Fuck Sake are a screamo/post-rock band from Sweden that's been around in some capacity since 2004. What they are best known for is their monumental 2008 LP Blazing Fires And Helicopters On The Front Page Of The Newspaper. There's A War Going On And I'm Marching In Heavy Boots.

In my opinion, this is one of the most screamo releases ever. There is so much to explore in this one album. For one, it's a concept album about a woman going through a series of mental breakdowns, and is eventually institutionalized. Instrumentally, the intensity of the narrative is explored through heavy climaxes and long build-ups, making for a truly immersive listening experience. In terms of comparisons, the screamo influence could be compared to bands like Louise Cyphre, City Of Caterpillar, or Envy. On the post-rock/metal aspect of things, bands like Isis, Mogwai, and Godspeed You! Black Emperor come to mind.

Years later, now in 2016, Suffocate For Fuck Sake have released the long-awaited follow-up to their debut opus. In My Blood picks up on a lot of where the band left off, with them continuing to construct these heavy-hitting titans of climaxes, and gorgeously crafted melodic softer parts. Like their first album, I can't recommend it enough. If you're a fan of expansive screamo and incredible musicianship, this band is an absolute essential. Enjoy.

1. Hospital / H / The Social Worker Dragon
2. Promenade
3. Le Gilet Fraternel
4. Lesra

1. Blue Lights And Sunshine
2. I Got Worried... I Was So Freaking Scared Of That Window, You Know
3. We Are Driving Through Darkness
4. Twentysix And Full Of Plans
5. A Japanese Flag
6. I Keep My Eyes On The Ground, Afraid Of Meeting Someone I Know
7. Empty
8. They Try To Cheer Me Up By Saying I Did Once Live A Functioning Life

1. Stina
2. I Am Your God
3. Sentence
4. Through The Gate
5. 33 Years Ago
6. Regrets
7. The Light
8. Carnage
9. Are You Happy With Your Life?