Monday, 8 June 2015

Hit The Lights

Hit The Lights are a five-piece pop punk band that formed in 2003 in Lima, Ohio. Admittedly, I don't listen to this band a ton, or many in their corner of the pop punk universe, but they get requested like crazy, and I haven't fulfilled anyone's pop punk fix on here for a while now, so here's the antidote. This band released their debut album through Triple Crown Records in 2006, which immediately brought them a devoted fan base and plenty of attention, and for good reason. Their debut is solid, and filled with chunky rhythms and catchy melodies plastered with vocal harmonies and gang chants about friends, girls, and girlfriends. All the essentials of a pop punk album. This would be the last album they put out with their original singer, since he left a year after its release. In his place was then-guitarist Nick Thompson, who has been their frontman since then. Their next album, Skip School, Start Fights is a more "mature" (I use that word loosely) effort on their part, and their tightness in both their musicianship and songwriting is apparent. Four years later, they made an even bigger jump in sound with Invicta by dabbling with a more indie/alternative influence. Now in 2015, they're signed to Pure Noise Records and put out a new album called Summer Bones, which is a return to their original form, plus features a song with their first vocalist.

I've really got to thank Jacob Shumaker for the help with this one, because I definitely would not have most of what's below, so you can thank him for that too. I'm glad to finally get this band on here, because the requests for them have been constant, so enjoy!

1. At 6:00 We Go Live
2. Head Over Heels
3. Sorry For
4. Counter-Clockwise

1. Until We Get Caught
2. At 6:00, We Go Live
3. Save Your Breath
4. These Backs Are Made For Stabbing
5. Loose Lips Sink Ships

1. The Call Out (You Are The Dishes)
2. These Backs Are Made For Stabbing
3. Three Oh Nine
4. Body Bag
5. Talk Us Down
6. Save Your Breath
7. Sincerely Yours
8. One Hundred Times
9. It's All The Rage
10. Speakers Blown
11. Until We Get Caught
12. Make A Run For It
13. Her Eyes Say Yes, But The Restraining Order Says No
14. Stick Up

1. Count It!
2. Breathe In
3. Stay Out
4. Drop The Girl
5. Tell Me Where You Are
6. Hangs Em High
7. Back Breaker
8. Don't Wait
9. Cry Your Eyes Out
10. Statues
11. Say What You Want To Say
12. On And On
13. How Will I Know (Whitney Houston cover)
14. Drop The Girl (The Secret Handshakes remix)

1. Coast To Coast
2. Pulse
3. Drive Onto Me (Elliott cover)
4. Snowbirds and Townies (Further Seems Forever cover)
5. Tell Me Where You Are (Acoustic)
6. Make A Run For It/The Call Out (Acoustic)

1. Invincible
2. Gravity
3. Earthquake
4. So Guilty
5. Get To You
6. Float Through Me
7. Should've Known
8. All The Weight
9. Faster Now
10. Take Control
11. Oh My God

1. Fucked Up Kids
2. The Real
3. Life On The Bottom
4. Revolutions And Executions
5. No Filter
6. Blasphemy, Myself And I
7. Summer Bones
8. Keep Your Head
9. Sitter
10. Old Friend

All Or Nothing
Body Bag (Acoustic)
Head Over Heels
Hey Jealousy (Gin Blossoms cover)
Hey Jealousy (Acoustic)
More Than A Feeling (Boston cover)
One Hundred Times (Acoustic)
The Warrior (Scandal cover)


  1. Thanks so much.. these records are priceless.. :D

  2. These guys have always been a favorite of mine, also (used to be) good friends. Thanks a ton!