Thursday, 28 May 2015

Diamond Youth

Diamond Youth (originally known as Diamond) are a four-piece alternative rock band from Baltimore, Maryland that formed in 2011. They share members with bands such as Trapped Under Ice and Down To Nothing, but the similarities end there. A good way to describe their sound is "big". They've got a massive guitar sound, soaring vocals, drums that boom and echo, and production work that fills up every corner with sound, but with a tasteful hint of reverb that gives each instrument its space. Diamond Youth don't fall into the terrible trend currently going on where the reverb level goes to 11. They use it for its actual purpose, to create a wall of sound with room to breathe. Thankfully so, since this band has some incredible songwriting capabilities, and are able to crank out tons of catchy melodies and solid guitar riffs. I mean, these songs could be on the radio and they'd fit right in (and I mean this in the best way possible). Diamond Youth have way more in common with radio friendly unit shifters Foo Fighters and Muse than anything else really, plus they could sit between Nirvana and Weezer on the 90's alt. rock station and not seem out of place, perhaps except for the little "2015" on the release date. Regardless, they're an amazing band that I highly recommend. They just put out their first full-length on Topshelf, and have an amazing back catalogue of EP's that are all worth your time, so here you go, enjoy.

1. Sunburn
2. Fix of Mine
3. Fly Solo
4. Don't Lose Your Cool
5. The Feeling
6. Keep Dreamin'
7. Pleasantries

1. Driving Home
2. Love Somebody
3. Don't Belong
4. Blood Does A Bat
5. Baby Please

1. Christmas Time Is Here

1. Cannonball
2. Separator
3. Come Down
4. Orange
5. Swing From You
6. Lola

1. Red Water
2. Can't Shake The Feeling
3. Don't Feel Real
4. Warm Scene
5. Maryland Ice Cream
6. Follow Through

1. Don't Feel Real
2. Bonfire
3. Lola
4. Cannonball

1. Nothing Matters
2. Thought I Had It Right
3. Spinning
4. Far Away From Earth
5. Succulent
6. In The Clouds
7. Riptide
8. No Control
9. The Nothing
10. Deep Love
11. The Difference