Monday, 23 April 2012

Code Orange (Kids)

Code Orange Kids (now known as just Code Orange) play a unique brand of sludgy hardcore, though you could use numerous labels to attempt to describe their sound. In terms of band comparisons, maybe Converge, Blacklisted, Cursed, and Punch, or something. Regardless. Hailing from Pittsburgh, Pennyslvania, these guys have been taking the hardcore scene by storm. They're fresh out of high school, recently signed to Deathwish, and are currently touring with Defeater and Touché Amoré, to put things into perspective. All hype aside, you still have a fucking amazing band, regardless of any of that. They blew me away from the get-go. I saw this video last summer, and have been hooked ever since. They are easily one of the best bands around now (IMO), and easily one of the greatest live bands I've ever seen. Scratch all that other shit out on your bucket list, seeing them is priority. If they're in or around your area, I highly suggest you GO. And you know, buy shit as well. 

Below is their discography to date, from their first demo to their recently released split with another great band called Full of Hell. I think I read somewhere that they have an even earlier demo, but I still haven't been able to track it down, or confirm that it is even in the vein of this sound. Found it, and it's definitely them, just with a heavier punk influence. Apparently they genre-hopped for a while. They'll also be released a full-length later this year. AOTY? Possibly. Yes. Here's their discography as of now:

1. Head High, Skull Thick
2. Starving Sisters
3. Defeated
4. I Am The Law

1. Coasts
2. Thrones
3. Skinless//Boneless
4. Violence
5. Low
6. Roots

1. I (Foundations Stand Still)
2. II (Embrace Me)
3. III (Erase Me)

1. CYCLES (The Days Get Longer)
2. Walls (We Lose Each Other)
3. Salvage//Fold
4. Give (The Rats, They Want You)
     5. Take (The Soil Is Calling)

1. Full Of Hell - Fox Womb
2. Full Of Hell - Damp Reeds In A River, Dry
3. IV (My Mind Is A Prison)
4. V (My Body Is A Well)

1. Web In Front (Archers Of Loaf cover)

Note: Covers comp put out by Casa de Diversion, remainder of comp can be found here

1. Flowermouth (The Leech)
2. Around My Neck // On My Head
3. Sleep (I've Been Slipping)
4. Liars // Trudge
5. Colors (Into Nothing)
6. Nothing (The Rat)
7. Roots Are Certain // Sky Is Empty
8. Choices (Love is Love)
9. Calm //Breathe
10. Bloom (Return to Dust)

Tigers Jaw/The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die/Code Orange Kids/Self Defense Family (2013)
1. Tigers Jaw - Fake Death
2. The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die - Beverly Wyatt
3. Code Orange Kids - VI (Worms Fear God // God Fears Youth)
4. Self Defense Family - Holy  Trend

1. I Am King
2. Slowburn
3. Dreams In Inertia
4. Unclean Spirit
5. Alone in a Room
6. My World
7. Starve
8. Your Body Is Ready...
9. Thinners Of The Herd
10. Bind You
11. Mercy

1. Forever
2. Kill The Creator
3. Real
4. Bleeding In The Blur
5. The Mud
6. The New Reality
7. Spy
8. Ugly
9. No One Is Untouchable
10. Hurt Goes On
11. dream2

1. Only One Way


Members are also in Adventures


  1. There's another demo floating about somewhere as well

  2. Hey guys, just adding that there is a new Code Orange album, if you could add it, that would be awesome!

  3. thanks a lot!!!

  4. You are awesome.

  5. Cheers for adding Forever! AOTY already imo


  7. God, I hope someone uploads a copy of the "itsalmostforever" companion tape.